These 3 teams have changed their names before RCB; SRH benefited from this, captured the trophy

IPL 2024: Now a few hours are left for the 17th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) to start. IPL 2024 will start from March 22. In the first match of this season, defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will face Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). Before this, a big change has been seen in the RCB team.

At RCB’s Unbox event, the name of the franchise was changed from Royal Challengers Bangalore to Royal Challengers Bangalore. RCB is not the first team to change its name. Before this, 3 more franchises have changed their names. These include Delhi Capitals, Punjab Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Sunrisers Hyderabad was the first to change its name

The Indian Premier League was started in the year 2008. Rajasthan Royals had captured the title in the first season. In the very next season of the league, Deccan Chargers defeated RCB and lifted the trophy. The franchise then changed its name to Sunrise Hyderabad in IPL 2013. During this period, a change was also seen in the ownership of the team. After changing the name, the team once again became the winner in IPL 2016. This time also the team had defeated RCB in the decisive match.

Delhi Daredevils became Delhi Capitals

After Sunrisers Hyderabad, the name of Delhi team was also changed. The Delhi Daredevils franchise became Delhi Capitals in 2018. However, even after changing the name, the fortunes of the team did not change and the franchise is still yearning for the title. Delhi Capitals did reach the final in the year 2020, where they had to face defeat by 5 wickets at the hands of Mumbai Indians.

Punjab Kings looking for trophy

Before RCB, the last time any franchise changed its name was in 2021. Kings XI Punjab was renamed Punjab Kings before the 14th season. Even after changing the name, the franchise has still not been able to become a winner. Although, in 2014, the Punjab team had made it to the finals, but they had to face defeat. In the final, Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Punjab by 3 wickets.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *