Let know what happened: IPL 2023: During CSK’s turn, Harshal Patel came out to bowl the last over, but he wasn’t allowed to finish it after only two balls.
The IPL match between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in Bengaluru, which was the 24th match of the tournament, was a great show. During CSK’s turn at bat, Harshal Patel came to bowl the last over, but he was only allowed to bowl two balls instead of a full over. After the referee said no, Glenn Maxwell finished it.
20th over: 10 balls bowled
In this over, Harshal Patel did bowl the first ball, but he threw the second ball to Moin Ali above the waist. It was called a “no ball” by the referee. After this, he put it again, and then Ravindra Jadeja came on strike with a single run of the bye. On the next ball, Jadeja took a bye and gave Moeen the strike, but Harshal threw the next ball wide.
When he tried again with the second ball, he made the same mistake, and it went over Moin’s hips. Now, Harshal couldn’t throw the ball because the judge stopped him. He could only bowl two balls this way. After that, Glenn Maxwell was done with it. He also threw a wide ball in it, though. In the 20th over, 16 runs were scored. There were a total of 10 balls thrown, but two were no balls and two were too wide. The crowd was shocked by how long Harshal’s over was. Harshal got 1/36 runs in 3.2 overs, and Glenn Maxwell got 1/28 runs in 2.4 overs.
Why didn’t the referee let the over happen
In fact, Law 41.7.1 of cricket says, “Any ball that passes above the waist height of a batsman standing up at the popping crease without pitching is considered unfair.” When this kind of ball is thrown, the judge will call “no ball.”
Rule 41.7.4 says that if the same bowler throws two dangerous balls in the same innings, the referee must tell the captain and stop the bowler from throwing balls. Harshal had already bowled two beamers in an innings against Sun Risers Hyderabad in 2021, but he wasn’t suspended because the first beamer he threw outside the batsman’s leg stump wasn’t that risky.
The ball should be put in the “dangerous” group
It’s important to remember that the umpire will decide if the beamer is dangerous to the batter or not. On Monday, the referee called both balls “dangerous,” so Harshal couldn’t finish his entire over.
Siraj is the one whose name is on the file
Mohammad Siraj has the record for having thrown the longest over in the IPL. In the match against MI on April 3, he threw five wide balls in the 19th over. In this way, he threw 11 balls to finish this “over.”